Posted by: David Carlson | November 17, 2010

New Messages on Facebook

Making headlines on The Daily Beast and elsewhere,  I’m one of 400 million accounts waiting for a chance to try the new messaging features offered by Facebook.

A feature article in the Daily Beast fed controversy.  USA Today contradicted the Facebook announcement, and said Google is threatened as the frontrunner providing similar services.  That same article ended with a revenue figure for advertizing on Facebook.  So, it’s all about the money, and always about the money.

Here’s where I stand.  I’m not worried about being over 60, (let alone over age 30, which the CEO of Facebook was quoted as saying is a demographic that doesn’t matter). 

Yahoo remains our anchor (think shopping mall anchor franchise).  My wife and I share Yahoo Mail, and a Yahoo Calendar.  The new car salesman we spent two hours with yesterday, said he uses Yahoo, because it covers all his needs to store information in one place.  That’s the “cloud”.

Yahoo regularly gets panned by CNBC analysts whose expectations are never met for advertizing revenue.  Any news about Google, Microsoft, or Facebook is bad news for Yahoo on CNBC.  Yahoo is still the most widely used email service.

I have a Google account and use it on all kinds of applications.  My wife and I can’t share a Google account or gmail address for a Facebook account; separate identities are good.  What I liked about Google at first was a good shield against spam and identity theft.  In my own mind, I felt like I could choose and control the services, such as Facebook, where I didn’t mind if someone stole my user id.  I could go crazy in my identity as quirkydave. 

By the way, one of my current reads is a book my daughter got signed by the author in Edinburgh two weeks ago.  I recommend The Charming Quirks of Others, by Alexander McCall Smith.

Actually, there are too many ways for an identity to be compromised on Facebook.  How many unused or under-used email accounts do you have?   Am I seen from Facebook as a scam target on a hotmail account, or a Windows Live account, or a Microsoft Outlook account that I rarely touch?  Automatic updates run on my pc’s that I can’t see or manage when I boot up.

A friend of mine suddenly had her Facebook account blocked yesterday.  What happened?  Imagine all the stuff you might accumulate in Facebook’s new framework, suddenly lost for no reason, never to be found again.

I have been using some of Windows Live Essentials features for about two months.  I use Internet Explorer as my default browser, instead of Firefox, which I have preferred for many years.  I also have Google Chrome as a browser. Nice features, but I’ll still go back to Firefox when I want to do something important.

I’ll try anything innovative that Facebook opens.  I want to know how it works. 

Responses

  1. Very nicely and thoughtfully written.


Leave a Reply

Categories

