Posted by: David Carlson | March 12, 2009

100 Places – Top 10

1,000 Places To See Before You DieA Travel Channel series, was being filmed in St. Paul Vance in the hills of Provence above Nice, while my wife and I were there in October 2007.  We were on a daytrip, part of a packaged tour of Provence, centered on a French Riviera beach town, Juan Les Pins.  We bought the package through the University of Minnesota Alumni Association, of which my wife was a member.  Others in our group were  alumni of colleges and universities throughout the Midwest, Texas, Oklahoma, Kentucky, Alabama, Iowa, Illinois.  Most were retired, but some were currently employed, checking their Blackberries daily on a working vacation.  I could list several Provence daytrips among my 100 favorite places.  My wife gave me the book,, 1,000 Places To See Before You Die, ,as a gift after the trip.  We watched our episode months later, and saw a few of our co-travelers.

My home was in two of the top 10 places on my list.  Little Marais, MN, where I live now, ranks number 1.  The island of Terceira, Azores, Portugal ranks second.  I have a blog entry posted already about life in the Azores.  See the archives.  St. Paul, MN., Amery, WI., Stillwater, MN – all belong in my memoirs as important home places or root places, and may make the top 100 places.  Wichita Falls, TX., and Norman, OK, were my homes briefly,  will not be in this list, but are in my memoirs.

Four trips to Israel were literally mountaintop life experiences.  Each trip we stayed in hotels atop Mount Carmel in Haifa, or in other accommodations on the slope facing Haifa Bay. Haifa, Akka, Nazareth, Jerusalem, and the Tel Aviv beach will be among the top 10 places. Baha’i Pilgrimage and family visits were the reasons for our four trips.  My daughter Rebecca’s wedding with Sean Molloy at the top of the Nof Hotel, was the top  mountaintop experience.

Sean Molloy’s hometown, Ballingary, Tipperary, Ireland, makes the top 10.  That trip was all about family, his entire family hosting us in their homes, and giving us a grand tour of historic places unlike any packaged tour could offer.

The 100 Places Category will have many blog posts. The trips I have taken to beautiful, historic, and otherwise meaningful places, will make it into my memoirs via this blog.

Top 10

  1. Little Marais
  2. Terceira, Azores, Portugal
  3. Akka/Haifa, Israel
  4. Jerusalem
  5. Tel Aviv
  6. The Galilee
  7. Ballingary, Tipperary, Ireland
  8. Grand Canyon, Arizona
  9. Chicago
  10. London
Leave a Reply

Categories

